The beginning

I had my son when I was 19, before that pregnancy I was never really overweight. I wasn’t skinny by any means but my mom used to say I was “healthy” also known as “just a little chubby”. I gained a lot during my pregnancy with Michael. And then continued to gain slowly through the years after. You can’t really blame your weight gain on your baby anymore when your baby is 12.

So before I go any further I have to explain why I’m attempting this seemingly impossible journey and why I’m sharing it with you. I have tried many times to lose a great deal of weight. I was kind of successful in the past with a 30lb weight loss in 2011 with the help of weight watchers and my best friends in Virginia. But then I moved back to the Chicagoland area and rediscovered pizza and Portillo’s and my mom’s home cooking. Before you knew it those 30lbs were just a distant memory. In the past I have tried to lose weight for an occasion or a trip…and I was also weirdly secretive about it. I never talked about it, never mentioned it in my many random Facebook posts. I think I was afraid of trying and failing and having everyone know about it. That’s why I’m blogging it this time. It’s time I hold myself accountable, and if I put it out there for the world to see then maybe I’ll get that missing motivation that I have lacked in the past. This time there is no deadline, no event to prepare for. I just want to get healthy and when I get there I get there. I have an incredibly long road ahead of me but I’m up for the challenge!

I have once again joined weight watchers. The plan did not fail me in the past…I failed me in the past. I love the way weight watchers works, it’s not a diet, it’s not a fad, it’s a lifestyle change. I remember in the past having a meeting leader say there is no end to this journey. You have to eat right and exercise forever if you want to get healthy and stay healthy. This is why they teach you how to eat healthier while still allowing yourself to indulge once in awhile. If you deprive yourself of something say like a chocolate shake, that’s all you’re ever going to want. You can’t ban things you enjoy, you just need to learn how to enjoy those things in moderation and account for them. I have just finished the Simple Start program (which was pretty great and I highly recommend you try if you are considering weight watchers) and am down 6lbs after two weeks. It’s not an impressive number but it’s a start and it is allowing me to remember that this does work if I stick with it. So here we go…let’s see if I can actually do this!

xo
Christina

20140305-233606.jpg

One thought on “The beginning

  1. I love that you’re blogging about it. I used to keep everything a secret too for fear of failing and being embarrassed. Now that I have the whole world watching and cheering me on, there’s no way I could disappoint everyone. Keep it up!!

Leave a Reply

