Shopping Healthy

When you are changing the way you eat you also have to change the way you shop.  I used to just go up and down the aisles buying whatever I felt like grabbing.  Now I use a list, first of all I don’t forget things nearly as often and second I give myself plenty of cooking options at home.  I have finished the “Simple Start” program with Weight Watchers but I still use the grocery list as a guide for my own shopping.  I’ll be honest about this whole clean eating/healthy living thing, I’m pretty sure I eat more now than I did before I started this weight loss journey.  But I’m eating good stuff, I love fruits like mango and bananas.  I’m also a big fan of zucchini, tomatoes, and asparagus.  This is what I snack on now.  No more chips and I honestly don’t miss them.  My husband is not doing weight watchers along with me (he and my son are incredibly picky eaters) and so we still have stuff like ruffles and cheese its in our house…strange enough I have no desire to snack on them.  And it’s not that I can’t have them, I can as long as I account for them, I just don’t think they are worth it anymore.  My daughter isn’t a huge junk food person usually and is loving the change in our grocery list.  She is always more than willing to eat any of the healthy meals I cook and I’m hoping through this I am teaching her habits that will stick with her into adulthood.  So enough rambling from me.  Here is the Weight Watchers Simple Start Shopping List that I base my grocery shopping off of.  Of course I don’t buy every single thing on it and buy other things for the picky eaters in my house, but it’s a great start and it has really helped me navigate the grocery store with a healthier mindset. 

Image

photo courtesy of http://www.weightwatchers.com

xo

Christina

Leave a Reply

