Fitbit and puppies

So this is going to be kind of a weird terrible combo blog, getting healthy is such a big part of my life now that it kind of intertwines with everything.

First the happy stuff. I got the world’s earliest but best birthday present, I got a fitbit! My birthday isn’t until July but in support of my journey to getting healthy my awesome family thought I might like it now instead of waiting. I’m really glad they didn’t wait! If you don’t know what that is check out their website at http://www.fitbit.com basically it’s a really fancy pedometer but it does a lot more. It helps you set goals, track your meals (although I’m still using my WW app for that instead), it tracks your sleep and fitness and more. It’s pretty cool. I haven’t figured out how to add friends through the app so if you do let me know lol. So far I haven’t met the 10,000 step daily goal but I’ve come close, clearly I need to move more. And now I have even more motivation to do so.

So that brings me to my not so happy news. I usually sleep pretty well (at least I think I do) but the past few night have shown a horrible sleep pattern on my fitbit. Saturday night I woke up completely 6 times and got very little actual sleep. Reason being, my puppy is very sick and he kept me up all night. So okay he’s not really a puppy…he’s 9 but he’s my puppy. Bentley is my Pomeranian and he’s the happiest dog I’ve ever come across. Even now, he still wags his tail and gets excited to see me. The vet thinks he has cancer but is not 100%, if it is it has not spread to his lungs or heart so that is good news. The bad news is he’s pretty sick and I’m not sure how much longer we have with him. For now he is on various medications and seems to be doing pretty well. My heart is breaking, while he loves everyone in the house Bentley is my dog. I’ve never lost a dog like this. My first dog, a Maltese named Mickey, passed away at an old age years after I moved away from home. I wasn’t there and I hadn’t been for a long time. While that was still tough, I didn’t have to deal with the vet visits and the actual loss in person. Roxy, the first dog I got with my husband, is 14 and still going strong. She’s 5 years older than Bentley but acts much younger. So I’m not dealing with it until I have to. For now I’m enjoying my puppy and appreciating the time I have with him.

20140407-234743.jpg

Leave a comment